Why Comic-Con Is Worth Attending (Despite Everything Dorkly Says)


So Dorkly wrote a pretty scathing review of SDCC a few days ago. While you can read it here the general gist of it was waah-waah, boo-hoo, SDCC is no fun anymore! Well I am here to say that they are wrong. I would argue that out of the tens of thousands of people who went, most had an absolute blast with no regrets what-so-ever. Still let’s break down some of their arguments, because they do make some valid points.

  1. It’s Too Crowded – Yep, it’s crowded, I can’t deny that one, but guess what? It is a large convention so what do you expect? We all got through it and managed to be where we wanted to be when we wanted to be there. It is doable and for a crowd of 100,000 plus, SDCC does a great job of managing things.
  2. You Can’t Get Into The Cool Panels Anyways – If your only definition of “cool panels” is Hall H or Ballroom 20 you might be right. However, I went to plenty of cool panels without much trouble, ranging from “The Writer’s Danger Room” to “The Expanse” to “Super Weird Heroes” and I enjoyed them all.
  3. It’s Too Expensive – This one is hard to judge because what is your definition of “too expensive.” SDCC is my summer vacation and for most attendees the same holds true. If you flew to New York and stayed four nights how much would that cost you? Or London or Alaska? Not to mention the discounts that SDCC gives you for the hotels. You can also do things to save money. Food? Buy groceries or bring your own snacks. Overpriced merchandise? You don’t have to buy it. As far as summer vacations go I consider SDCC to be pretty reasonable all things considered.
  4. Everything Will Be On Line Instantly – I can’t argue against this one. If all you are going for is new or exclusive footage then yes, maybe you should stay at home in your mother’s basement and surf the net.

To be honest, I find most of these arguments to be petty and trivial. Does something need to be done about the Hall H situation? Absolutely. But guess what? If people love Hall H and that is their priority then who cares if they want to sit in line for 20+ hours. It is their decision. One of my favorite memories is when the entire cast of the Avengers was announced and danced their way out in Hall H. You simply can’t recapture the experience and energy by watching it online.

San Diego – people want to go to San Diego. It’s a destination. You have the warm sun, the surf, the brilliant evenings and downtown San Diego is so much fun. You can’t experience this from home.

Panels –  I mentioned this above but there are tons of fun panels to go to outside of Hall H and Ballroom 20. To be honest I gave up on those two halls years ago and I have had so much more fun since I did. This gave me the option to go to more creative panels and I haven’t looked back. I would highly recommend this approach as I think it maximizes your time and doesn’t exhaust you along the way.

Exhibit Hall – The giant magnetic called the exhibit hall is a site to behold. It is a veritable menagerie of the strange, rare and geeky and there is so much to see. Everywhere you look there is something new and no matter how much time you spend there you will probably still miss something. Again, the online experience just doesn’t cut it.

The Night Life – After parties, meetups and outside events. You can’t do this if you stay at home and pout. Over the years this has become one of my favorite parts of SDCC, including our very own Game of Bloggers meet up! Try doing this from home, oh wait, you can’t.

People – Much like Soylent Green, SDCC is people. My absolute favorite thing is reconnecting with old friends I met at the convention in past years and meeting new people. Bloggers, artist, writers, media personalities, the occasional celebrity – you name it. I have also met people from England, France, Indonesia and a number of other places. This year I had the pleasure of meeting and hanging out with the super cool people of C4CC and would have missed connecting with them if I skipped out. You can’t do this from home…oh wait, I guess you can in an online chat room, once again from your mother’s basement.

Shame on Dorkly as their article was whiny and unoriginal with arguments that don’t hold up to the truth. The simple fact of the matter is SDCC is what you make of it. It’s about the experience, the energy, the creativity and super cool people you meet along the way. For me it’s about connecting with my passions, my fandom and ultimately experiencing the things I loved so much in my childhood. That is what keeps me going back and I wouldn’t miss it for the world.

You can follow Jefferson @nerdsinrecovery

Is SDCC worth it? Tell us what you think! We want to hear from you!

12 thoughts on “Why Comic-Con Is Worth Attending (Despite Everything Dorkly Says)

  1. Agreed 100%. I thought that article on Dorkly was nothing but I didn’t get to go to SDCC so it sucks. Going is awesome and if you tailor it to your wants/needs it’s even better.

  2. I have to agree with nerds on this one. I had a blast this year and last year. You make the con what you want it to be. If all you want is hall h and ballroom 20 than I’m sorry I’m so so sorry. Sdcc is more than just those two rooms. See all 120k of you next year!

  3. SO WORTH IT. SDCC 2017 was my fourth foray into the madness, and this time I took my husband and two kids! We had a great time, especially since we tried to be as realistic as possible. We only had Saturday and Sunday badges, so we had to pick and choose our experiences. I’ve done the Hall H line before and reaped the benefits of those Saturday panels, but that wasn’t an option for us this year. We did some other panels and offsites instead, and had an incredible time. It was also a great chance to meet up with friends, and I was so grateful for those opportunities. SDCC is the only time that my fandom friends and I get to meet up (except some of us are beginning to branch into C2E2 visits, which is easier for us Midwest peeps), and being with them in that amazing San Diego setting is worth the trouble of getting badges and hotels.

  4. I was in both Ballroom 20 and Hall H this year. Ballroom 20 was easy to get into and Hall H for Saturday came with its usual long wait but worth it to me. Got to meet Andy Serkis in line and you get to meet people and have fun conversations.

    Crowds will always be there. I do hate the non-exclusive footage nowadays, especially when they ask you at nausea to not record anything then release it online immediately anyway. The Marvel leaks were suspicious considering last year they had security up the wazoo in hall h but this year it was almost non existent. The experience definitely can’t be beat in person over lame online.

    Anyone that has that much to complain about just wants everything handed to them, much like those who feel because they weren’t in Hall H and sat at home they should be entitled to the same experience as those who who put the time in to get in. The con is what you make of it and what you want it to be. I always found it funny people complain about the waiting for hall h and making fun of those who do it, yet would wait in line for the same amount of time to buy a funko pop or other item. Let people enjoy the experience the way they want to. That’s what I say to those complain or have issues. I’m already waiting for next year.

  5. My family and I have had the opportunity to go to SDCC 6 times in the last 11 years. I will say that, although SDCC grows in popularity and attendance density each year, it is still the Gold Standard pop culture convention, at least in the U.S. A few of those years, we could only go one or two days, but discovered just how much there was to do *outside* the convention hall. My family and I always go together, often with a friend or more, and we have made new, lifelong, long-distance friends, seeing each other only annually at SDCC. We have endured, and enjoyed, the adventure of sleeping in line, outside, all night long. Each year, despite the thrill of waiting for the badge sale, the mystery and frustration of hotel booking and the rising cost of travel, we learn more and become more sophisticated about what we want to do, see, attend — and leave behind. Some experiences are tradition, but each year there are new and more exciting things to try (i.e., Cosplay Karaoke from the top of a double-decker bus! Thank you, SYFY!). Ultimately, SDCC is the highlight of our yearly travels, and we never regret the hard work, patience and planning involved.
    It would be easy to criticize SDCC. I think of SDCC as the Mardi Gras, or even the Burning Man, of pop culture. Unique in every way and managing to stay on top each year. These days, every major city has a comic con, and a few are right up close to SDCC. But, at the end of the day, the SDCC committee (and the City of San Diego) kicks serious Con butt and always delivers an amazing experience.

  6. This article is full of negativity. I thought C4CC was supposed to be all about comradery and helping other bloggers, not calling them out personally and shaming them publicly for an opinion they value. I thought everyone’s values were welcome. Although I may not personally agree with what dorkly posted, that doesn’t give me or others the right to publicly shame them. All opinions are valued at sdcc even if not agreed with. It seems someone here forgot that. Sad.

    • I think you are taking it a bit more deeper then what was intended!! You have every right to take it how ever you want but that wasn’t Jefferson intentions by no means! He only wanted to say yes there is a reason to go to SDCC it was. So whats wrong with writing a positive version or answer to a Negitive Article? Infact he even stated that the person had valid points. So if anyone is doing any type of public shaming or not respecting an opinion is you!

  7. I go to SDCC because I love it. Regardless of what anyone writes or says about it. It is for me and no one can take that from me. It is expensive, it is crowded, it is tiring, it is hard to get into things and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Which is obvious by us attending for the past 7 years. Each year we say we won’t be back and then we stand in the hallway of the center, or in a panel or with our friends and say “we’ll be back.” I can’t quit SDCC and I don’t want to.

    • Bookended! So great running into you guys so many times. You guys are awesome and so much fun. Thanks for the response and hopefully we are all caught up on our rest by now. Thanks for reading. #commiccon4ever.

Leave a Reply

