I Used To Love The Walking Dead


IMG_0026

***Season 7 spoilers***
In its 7th season, The Walking Dead continues to be one of the most popular shows on television. Rick and his rag tag group of ever changing survivors have been to hell and back on more than one occasion. I have been a loyal follower since the beginning, but as this season nears its end I find myself less interested in this post-apocalyptic-zombie-infested world. As much as I have tried to deny it, I just don’t care about these characters any longer (blasphemous, I know). To me The Walking Dead has jumped the proverbial shark.

I know exactly when this happened for me, and I believe I’m not the only one. Season 7 episode 1 “The Day Will Come When You Won’t Be”.  The gruesome deaths of Glenn and Abraham (especially Glenn) amounted to a death blow for the show for me. Obviously main characters have died before on this and other television shows, but for some reason I have not been able to recover from Glenn’s demise. My interest for the show went out the window the moment the credits rolled. I have continued to watch but I am not enjoying the show any longer.

I compare Abramam and Glenn’s deaths to the Red Wedding episode in Game of Thrones. Both were obviously shocking but I didn’t lose interest in Game of Thrones. I wanted to know what was going to happen next. To me The Red Wedding progressed the story with all the Starks’deaths but Abraham and Glenn’s deaths felt forced for shock value.

I’ve never been one to shy away from movie/tv violence but this Walking Dead episode seemed like it was just too much. Maybe I feel this way because Glenn, along with Daryl, have been my favorite characters from the start. Glenn died and Daryl was complicit in his death. Two huge personal blows that I have yet to overcome. I know we are not supposed to like him, but  Jeffrey Dean Morgans character Negan is just reprehensible. Again I have continued to watch but with much less interest or care. I only want to see Negan’s eventual downfall, nothing more. Watching now seems like a chore that I no longer enjoy.

Additionally how much longer can the show last recycling the same story: Moving from town to town while fighting off zombies, losing an occasional main character and ultimately defeating an egotistical man that is in power. How will the show ultimately end? Will they find a cure and live happily ever after? Doubtful because that is to clean of an ending in my opinion.

What are your thoughts on The Walking Dead? Are you still watching with great interest? Anyone else feel the same or am I in the minority? Leave your comments below.

Follow me at @darthmaul1309

Leave a Reply

