2016, a year I will never forget


twitter-banner

Hey all, I know it’s been a while. Can you believe how fast 2016 has flown by? The beginning of this year started like most years for me. Wrapping up the previous year of cons and setting sights on a new set. 2016 started with a place of discontentment for me. While I was enjoying my marketing day job, I knew I was settling for less. Deep down inside there was more I could be doing and a crossroads was imminent. Little did I know that a greater force; destiny, karma, fate- or I believe God had a bigger plan for my life. In February I got laid off and it gave me time to look into the mirror to decide if I was going to take a brave step into a new career or settle for something more safe and familiar. It didn’t take long to realize that a new company with a new vision was going to shape my future. Hero Within was born and it was time to put my Galactic credits where my mouth is. March was when we incorporated, we got the DC Comics license in April, finalized the samples in May and launched the online store in July. San Diego Comic-Con was the first time the Justice League Collection was presented to the public and a long few months of pre-orders began. Just a couple of weeks ago, our inventory arrived and the craziness of fulfillment began at the height of the Christmas rush. Needless to say, it has been a roller coaster ride of a lifetime- and one of the scariest rides at that! I’m exhausted and energized all at the same time.

I have to say a special thanks to the team that has formed around Hero Within. Michael, Daniel, Kim and Marlon have made this journey possible. Their friendship, experience and level-headedness has kept me off of the ledge and focused on building this company. Cliche as it is, teamwork makes the dream work. Secondly, I am so grateful for you all. You have journeyed with me through this whole process and many of you have supported Hero Within in various ways. Whether as a customer, a professional, media partner or a shoulder to cry on, the only way Hero Within would have gotten off the ground is through the support of many people. It is truly overwhelming to think about and I am touched by you all.

With any dream, it comes at an expense. My convention duties and Crazy 4 Comic Con have taken a hit even though it’s all in a similar geek sphere. My hope and dream is to merge all my passions into one but that will take a little time. My focus in the past 6 months has been to get this company off the ground and make it the million billion dollar brand I believe it could be. Thank you for your patience and I assure you great things  are to come from Crazy 4 Comic Con in 2017.

My best wishes to you and happy new year.

-Tony

One thought on “2016, a year I will never forget

Leave a Reply

