My First Week At Running A Geek Company… and News!


IMG_2651

Hero Within has only been opened for a week but I feel like I have aged a year. The experience of starting my own company has been one of the most exhilarating, unpredictable and stressful experiences of my life. I’ve spent more hours than ever staring at my laptop- which is saying a lot. I am so grateful for many of you that have shared in my enthusiasm and provided media support for Hero Within. Honestly, my emotions have ranged from discouraged to elated and everything in between. I’ve already had so many interesting conversations as a result of this project and I am really looking forward to the future of our young company. However, Comic-Con is still a week away and I feel mentally exhausted. Nothing is a sure bet in this industry and this can all go away as quickly as it appeared. But that’s the point isn’t it? The act of creating is inherently an exercise in taking risks. It’s only by taking risks that a compelling future will emerge. Out of this whole experience, the biggest lesson I have learned is the value of team. The name of our company is Hero Within- and my heroes in this venture have been Marlon, Kim, Daniel and Michael. They are all uniquely gifted, passionate, determined and are genuinely great people. I am humbled to share this adventure with them and I know the future will be bright as long as we are together.

Soon I’ll post a few of the panels and events I will be a part of but I wanted to highlight The Business of Geek Fashion panel. My journey while short, has already been filled with many ups and downs. I hope to share some of them with you at this panel. I’m honored to join an esteemed group of culture shapers and look forward to adding my experience to the discussion.

The Business of Geek Fashion [Sat 10a, Pacific 24 Marriott Marina]
IMG_0250Do you ever wonder how the latest Star Wars fashion collection was made or why companies are hosting fashion shows featuring your favorite fandoms? This panel will offer an inside look at the business of geek fashion, examining the major changes that took place in the industry over the last year and what they means for the future. Moderated by Lisa Granshaw, panelists Ed Labay (Hot Topic), Ashley Eckstein (Her Universe), Jon Schindehette (ThinkGeek Denver), and Sara Scargall (WeLoveFine), and Tony Kim (Hero Within) will discuss the process behind creating pop culture apparel and accessories, how geek fashion is expanding into new areas, how the industry has evolved over the years, and recent geek fashion trends. There will be time left for attendees to voice their opinions and ask their questions about geek fashion.

Leave a Reply

