I’m Homeless for Comic-Con… Now What?!


Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 10.31.01 AM

The aftermath of April 5th’s Comic-Con ‘Hotelpocalypse’ has left many badge holders  homeless, desperate and scrambling. If you are a veteran of the show, the reality that a very inconvenient commute is starting to set in- which is tough fate to accept. While getting a Comic-Con downtown hotel has been a roller coaster ride for years now, I do know there are more solutions out there than you think. Here are a few factors to consider.

1. OnPeak wait list and deadlines
If you have been placed on the OnPeak hotel wait list, you are now eagerly awaiting good news to arrive in your inbox. The deadline for cancellation (without penalty) is not till April 30. This means it still might be a couple of weeks till anything is sent out from OnPeak. From my research, no one has been contacted from the wait list yet which leads me to believe OnPeak might be waiting to have a full inventory before sending e-mails out. There is still hope.

2. Twitter
Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 10.42.36 AMSeriously, our fandom on Twitter is amazing. Even in the midst of a lot of panic, fellow attendees rallied together and helped each other get rooms for the past couple of weeks. If you scour the hashtag #SDCC & #Hotel, you might come across someone willing to give up an extra reservation. Then you have to contact each other through e-mail to pass the reservation (along with some hoop jumping since the deposits has already been made). It is also helpful to send out distress flairs letting Twitter know you are in need of a hotel. Opportunities are out there, albeit a little hard to find.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 10.08.52 PM3. Friends of CC Forum
The title of this forum says it all. For years now the Friends Forum has been coordinating the tribe and helping them resolve any number of issues related to Comic-Con. This thread has rooms up for grabs and here are those seeking roommates. It will take time to search for the right situation for you but it will be worth it. While FoCC is a helpful community make sure to use common sense and safety when room sharing or engaging in financial transactions. If something sounds to good to be true is usually is so just be careful of any weird offers. Reddit also has some hotel threads going here and here.

4. Another sale?
1722442_o
Each year differs when it comes to secondary sales for Comic-Con badges or hotels. In the past couple of years, we have seen the elimination of the extra badge sales and it’s possible we won’t have another hotel sale. Hopefully, once the hotel wait list folks have been contacted, there will be another hotel sale but for now, all we can do is pray.

inline-airbnb-eviction-trailer5. Search

With some patience and Google, you can still find rooms on your own. Whether it’s an AirBnB or a random Motel 6, if you are willing to go farther out, you can find some options (and desperate). Now that people have gotten their hotel of choice, many are now canceling their ‘back up’ hotel in other locations. Just make sure to find one near the tram or SDMTS route and you’ll be ok. Be open minded about renting a docked boat, a hostel, camper, etc.

9344810627_1c91d03314_c6. Camp
Desperate times lead to desperate measures. If you don’t have a room, you might as well have a good seat in Hall H by camping out over night under the tents and borrowing friend’s hotel showers. Or you will have to sleep in your car as long as you have an overnight parking spot. You will end your week pretty frazzled but hey, you’re making memories. So if you’re young at heart and have a healthy back, you might want to consider this option. With the right gear and the right group of friends, this can be the best thing you’ve ever done!

I know this was a stressful experience for some of you but it will be worth it in the end. CCI and OnPeak have done their best to handle the situation and I’m sure it will be better for next year. Rarely has the exact same problem repeat itself- but we sure find ways to create new ones! Also, hit me up on Twitter and I’ll help the best I can. Happy hotel hunting and let me know if you have any questions and please leave a comment with your hotel solution.

14 thoughts on “I’m Homeless for Comic-Con… Now What?!

  1. I am one of the ones on the waitlist waiting to hear good news. I’m doing searches on the side but I’m holding out hope nonetheless. I truly hope to get something. I loved staying downtown last year but seeing as how it is possible that might not happen this year, chance so slim I can’t see it, I just want to make sure I get a place somewhere.

    • Stay strong and hang in there. Hopefully you will be contacted soon. I’ll let you know if I hear anything. Thanks for commenting!

  2. My first year at SDCC was last year and we did Airbnb. It was only a 15min ride away from everything. Even with the uber rides it was cheaper daily to do this. The downside is once your out and about that’s it. Pack for the day and plan what you buy at the vendor fair because you will be carrying this.

    It worked for me and I enjoyed “leaving” the con and decompressing at night at s restaurant that wasn’t filled with people.

    Hope everyone finds what they need.

    • Your right- Uber def makes commuting in easier and sometimes getting away from the madness is a good thing. Packing for the day can be challenging but many do it anyways. Thanks for your thoughts and commenting.

  3. A few years back I was left homeless for the Con about 2 weeks before. Obviously everything was booked and I was left with very few choices. I found a hotel near Qualcomm Stadium that was over priced, but available. I rented a car and drove to one of the hotels on the shuttle route. It took about 45 min to get there. Yes it was inconvenient, but I was greatful for a place to stay. We packed for the day and made our plans accordingly. I still had a great time and loved every second of it.

    • I’m on the wait list, but have booked a backup hotel just in case. Does anyone know which hotels on the Shuttle Route are or (more importantly) aren’t parking friendly?

      • Good job with your back up hotel! In general, the father you are out, the better the parking situation is. Some hotels like out in Chula Vista won’t even charge for parking. So it just depends. Best of luck!

    • That’s great- yea sometimes you have to just make the best of what you get. One time we were way up north near Little Italy. It was not convenient but we had some great food after the con! Thanks for sharing and for commenting!

  4. I’m also on the housing waitlist (again) this year because we missed the hotel pre-sale! I never got an e-mail about it and I am kicking myself daily over it. Is there really a chance that there won’t be a secondary hotel sale? I have always counted on that every year and now I’m even more nervous!

  5. There have been a small return sales in the past but they were not for the downtown hotels. So if there is one, you just have to be flexible about location. Sorry to hear about your situation and I hope it works out.

  6. Hey Tony I was lucky in reserving a hotel in Mission Valley for SDCC 2016 and unlucky when it came to getting parking via the ACE Parking lottery…could you please tell me if shuttle service to the Con will be provided from the hotels…thanks

Leave a Reply

