Level Up: Pixar, Sleep Deprivation, and Creativity


toy-story-1-e1367364134660

If you have been following me for any length of time, you know that ‘creativity’ is one of the traits I am most passionate in life. The industries that we admire- comics, TV, web, and film, are all fueled by the horsepower of creativity. In fact, creativity is what draws us together at places like Comic-Con and is often the difference maker between a successful or failed project. I have been a student of this magical word for most of my adult life and like many artists, I have some good days along with plenty of bad days. Recently, I pulled together my co-workers to watch a documentary on the animation company, PIXAR. I was reminded of the intense difficulty of the creative process- in all it’s various forms. Whether it’s early mornings, late nights, tense relationships, miscommunication, lack of resources, or unrealistic deadlines, the creative process is just plain hard. However, oftentimes that pain is necessary in order to push yourself and discover another level of creativity for your work. So if you are a young writer, artist, or creator, I hope this simple post encourages you today to stick with it. Don’t give up. Push through. And to finish.

Pixar put out a number of animated shorts sharing little snippets from their roller-coaster history. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

