2014 Tip of the Day #16: Take A Chance


With Comic-Con being only 22 days away, this Tip of the Day was inspired by a quote from one of my favorite authors:

“Nobody can tell you if what you’re doing is good, meaningful or worthwhile. The more compelling the path, the more lonely it is. ”  -Hugh MacLeod

1527066_393942147412986_6720482042944415975_nTo those still on the fence about cosplaying (costume play), Comic-Con is the best time to go for it. Whether this is your first time or many times, you should seriously consider dressing up this year- however, I know some of you won’t because of harassment, embarrassment or fear.  Anyone deeply involved in the cosplay community will tell you, it’s so much more than just dressing up. Cosplay is about self express. It’s about taking risks and doing something outside the norm. Being ‘outside the norm’ is why Comic-Con started in the first place and is why it has flourished over the past 4 decades. Buuuuut, if you decide the take the plunge, sometimes your closest coworkers, friends and family will not understand your desire to dress up in tights and prance around in front of strangers. To an outsider, cosplay may look silly or childish- but I think there is nothing more empowering and healthy than an adult courageously facing their fears and doing something that’s risky. Not only is cosplaying liberating, but it can really create an eye opening and life changing experience. I cosplayed for the first time last year and it really did change my perspective. I was now a part of the experience not just absorbing it. Remember, your idea doesn’t have to be big, it just has to be your own. Ironically, cosplaying as someone else can really help you discover a whole new side to yourself! I know many super introverted fans that have really come out of their shell through cosplay. Check out this is a great fan video with an awesome quote; “Being normal is no fun”. Shot at NYCC, this is a great video by BuzzFeed that captures the heart and mind of the cosplayer community.

If cosplay has helped you, share your story by leaving a comment- and this year, I hope to NOT recognize you this year at Comic-Con! 😉

Image by: Model: https://www.facebook.com/Lonstermash

8 thoughts on “2014 Tip of the Day #16: Take A Chance

  1. Our first year at SDCC, we decided to cosplay as zombies because of the @sdzombiewalk. Best-Decision-Ever!! Becoming zombies opened so many doors and brought us unbelievable experiences:) Examples of cool stuff that happened to us because of cosplay: We were on the 4 hour G4 Attack of the Show Comic Con Special in the Hyundai Walking Dead car eating and attacking PMOY Sara Jean Underwood, interviewed by Brazilian TV and the local KUSI morning show, met Adrianne Curry,Eric Balfour,Matt Mira, Nicholas Brendon to name a few, filmed for Spike TV and SYFY holding their signs, many after-parties, in the Walking Dead documentary “A Decade of Dead”, and I was also on the Entertainment Weekly homepage for days, plus lots of pics. These are just a few of the things that we experienced all because I put on a little make-up & smeared blood:) Plus I met Tony B. Kim and threatened to bite him:) You become a whole different person. It would be hard not to cosplay once you see how much fun it can be!!!

  2. I finally decided to take the plunge! This year will be my first time doing any kind of cosplay. I am really nervous tho…I see so many amazing costumes and I worry that mine won’t measure up. I am planning to go as Homer Simpson “the Chosen One”. I have zero sewing skill, so I had to farm that out to my sister-in-law. I did a lot of planning and research to get the dimensions right…I just hope it holds together! I am thinking about attending the Simpsons panel in costume because I noticed that the people in costume tend to be noticed by the panelists (Matt Groening gave out drawings he made on stage to costume contest winners). That might be a lofty goal for a noob, but I am still going to give it a shot 🙂

  3. Took my costume out for a spin today! It was a hit! I had so many people asking for pics and/or interviews! I never dreamed it would go so well! 🙂
    Tony, how do you balance cosplay and taking time to explore? I had so much fun cosplaying, but had to change clothes eventually to get a chance to enjoy being the spectator. Well…..that and get into clothes that aren’t soaked with sweat.
    Btw…Axe body spray or similar item should be in every cosplayer’s kit. My apologies to the folks riding the bus with me :/

Leave a Reply

