Todd’s First Time…


Join Todd as he shares not only his ‘First Time’ journey to Comic-Con but also finding that one thing that we all long for…

What is your definition of home? Mine is the place I feel most comfortable and accepted as I am. After attending my first Comic-Con I can honestly say, I can’t wait to go home again this year.

Growing up, I was child of the 80’s and 90’s. I loved playing video games with my friends, watching Ducktales and Thundercats, and playing with our Star Wars toys. Unfortunately, as we have grown up and moved across the country, I’ve lost touch with my friends that shared my nerd side. Now, I geek out at home, playing video games, reading comics, and watching TV shows. San Diego Comic-Con offered an opportunity for me to not only meet the creators and stars of the things I love, but also the chance to be among the people that love the same things I do.

Untitled

I was lucky enough to get tickets to all four days of Comic-Con, which allowed me to have some experiences I will never forget. I went to some amazing panels such as the panel with Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo, the current talent on the Batman comic. They were nice enough to sign my copy of Batman #1 after the panel. I attended the South Park panel with Matt Stone and Trey Parker where they talked about their upcoming game The Stick of Truth. It was the most entertaining panel I went to the entire week. They were hilarious! I also went to the Superman 75th anniversary panel that had talent from all the iterations of Superman throughout the years. It was an once-in-a-lifetime panel that probably will never happen again and I’m glad I was there to witness it.

Comic-Con can be difficult as the lack of sleep hits you and you’re sleeping on the sidewalk outside Hall H but by befriending the other people in line, it makes the whole experience better. I met some new friends that I have maintained contact with through Twitter. I also had the chance to meet up with Alex Jahilian (@Jahilianaire), which I followed on Twitter after his first time article last year. We met up and we hung out in the Hall H line and watched the panels together that day. All the new friends I met in lines are the best “swag” I received the entire trip.

Untitled02

The one person I wanted to meet more than any other on my trip was comic artist Jim Lee. He was the person that brought me back into comics with his graphic novel Hush. He sent out a tweet on Thursday saying he would be at Nerd HQ on Friday. I immediately bought my ticket and on Friday brought my copy of Hush and his new comic Superman Unchained #1 for him to sign. He was so gracious and kind, signed everything, and took his picture with me.

Untitled03

Comic-Con was everything I expected it to be and more but more than anything, I found my home.

Todd
@ToddAwbrey
www.toddawbrey.com

Thanks Todd for sharing. My favorite part was how you met up with a Twitter friend to experience Hall H together! Inspire others with your ‘first time’ story- Don’t wait! Read details here!

One thought on “Todd’s First Time…

  1. That is awesome! What a coincidence that Jim Lee’s Hush series was also responsible for bringing me back to comics. Can’t wait for SDCC this year.

Leave a Reply

