Lucy’s First Time…


The next installment of “My First Time” story. Thanks Lucy for sharing your inaugural journey to the San Diego Comic-Con!

Screen shot 2014-03-21 at 8.07.26 AMAh, San Diego Comic Con. For seven years I have been waiting, watching all coverage I could find on Comic Con, from my very own couch. I was fourteen when I first saw coverage on G4. I was in awe. I couldn’t stop thinking about how many other nerds there were out there other than myself! For the first time, I wasn’t alone! From that moment on, I knew without a doubt that I would be there too. Some day, whether it be the next year or the year after that, I would be walking the footsteps of everyone on my television screen.

So, guess what. Last year, 2013 was my first year– and it was a dream come true. I couldn’t believe it; I was finally in the belly of the beast. I finally got to sleep in the line for Hall H. I finally got to explore the floor and buy some exclusives. I finally got to sit in Hall H and experience 6,500 nerds screaming their lungs out for whatever celebrity was taking the stage.

Screen shot 2014-03-21 at 8.08.12 AMA few of my favourite moments were when I got to meet Robert Kirkman and one of my favourite people of all time, Bryan Fuller, writer and creator for NBC’s Hannibal (who is an absolute sweetheart.) I was within reaching distance of Michelle Fairley as well, and she is as beautiful in the flesh as she is on television.

I’d say the only hardships I endured were blisters, lack of sleep, and the nasty cold I endured when I got home. I did miss the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary panel, but that was okay. I had a few more hours to wander about downtown San Diego before I hopped back onto the train.

IMG_7489This dream come true left me with memories I will never ever forget. I will forever remember the woman in Hall H, who saw my friend and I freaking out over the official trailer of Catching Fire, and handing us some Mockingjay pins. She made my entire trip, and I think it’s safe to say she was my hero for that. I am forever grateful to her as The Hunger Games means a lot to me.

The best thing about this first time? I got to go to every panel that I wanted. I got to see everyone I wanted. I went with my best friend, and I got to see Serenity in Petco Park with I don’t even know how many other Brown Coats. That was truly an amazing experience that I will never forget.
-Lucy (@SleepingHearts)

Thanks Lucy! Please submit your First Time story so I can post it- read details here!

Leave a Reply

