2013 Tip of the Day #16: Level Up Your Body…


Screen shot 2013-06-25 at 11.35.54 PMI’m no doctor but I am Asian- and my people make great doctors. So I wanted to offer some advice on some helpful supplements you might consider taking during the show. If you are new to the four day experience of Comic-Con, it’s a very grueling ride. Whether you are standing for hours in the heat, sprinting to your favorite panels, or shuffling a mile on the showroom floor, you will be exhausted like you’ve never been before. Especially if you are going to take advantage of the late hours nightlife. The problems is that the pre-dawn schedule doesn’t exactly allow for a well balanced breakfast. After a couple of days, your body can vulnerable to sickness or injury- making you zombie bait for sure. To keep that from happening you want to take some preventitive steps to make it all the way through the show. Disclaimer: Like anything you put in your system, do your research and don’t take some crazy Asians advice as gospel.

  • First things, first. I would advice you to cut down on Romulan Ale. Unless you’ve figured out how to make Star Trek’s ‘synthahol’, don’t burden your nutrient starved body with liquor. I know it might be hard for you to imagine having a good time with out some spirits, but you don’t want to be a wreck by the time the most demanding day of the con arrives- Saturday.
  • Nothing is better than good ole H2O. Start your morning with plenty of water and stay hydrated throughout the day.
  • Emergen-C or another Vitamin C supplement is a must. With close proximity, hand shakes, and hugs, you can contract a zombie virus in no time. Pound the Vitamin C.
  • Potassium is great to take at the con. Naturally found in bananas, Potassium helps muscles recover and keeps you from cramping. I take it in pill form and find it helpful when I jog.
  • Vitamin E found in sun flower seeds and almonds are a great for removing pollutants from your body (since you aren’t listening to my non-drinking advice). It helps with relaxing the muscles and reduces foot cramping.
  • Protein in the morning is huge. Your muscles need it after a long day in order to recover. If you can swing a protein shake or peanut butter sandwich on your way to the con, you will give your body a fighting chance.
  • I also take a regular doses of IBuprofen during the days. Besides pain management, it keeps the swelling down in your feet which relieves stress in other parts of your body. Disclaimer: Again, know what affects any medication has on your body before taking it.

Overall, a steady intake of nuts, protein, and fruit will keep you on your feet. While alcohol, candy, and fatty foods won’t. This all may sound a little too motherly, but trust me, you don’t want to take chances.  Comic-Con is like Mount Everest. The climb from Wednesday to Friday is a steady climb with Saturday being the steepest part. You’ll need every advantage you can get to make SDCC a wonderfully memorable experience. I know a lot of you con veterans have your own nutritional secrets- leave a comment and let us know.

Read my other Tip of the Day posts.

8 thoughts on “2013 Tip of the Day #16: Level Up Your Body…

  1. I already knew my first task in SD was gonna be hitting the supermarket, now I have the perfect shoppinh list. 🙂 thanks!

  2. Great tips! I’m no doctor either (English major alert!), but I have lost 115 lbs in the last year and a half, and your food suggestions are right on! Breakfast will be really, really important to make it through those long days. My plan for breakfast is a PB and banana sandwich + a glass of milk to load up on protein early in the day.

  3. If you’re a drinker (like I am), I strongly suggest grabbing Forgiven or another alcohol metabolizer. Last year, I went to the IMAX event, which featured an open bar, and I drank a bit too much. When I got back to the hotel, I took the supplement, and I was ready to go, bright and early the next day. With so many offsite parties, the temptation to drink is high, so I really feel they’re worth looking into. This is the product I used, but I’m sure the competitors work just as well. http://www.amazon.com/Forgiven-Alcohol-Metabolizer/dp/B005NEBFS4/ref=pd_sim_sbs_hpc_3

  4. Thanks for those portable easy to carry nutrient tips!! An additional suggestion –Coconut water is a nice h2o alternative with 61 milligrams of potassium per oz., and a nice collection of electrolytes. Claims that it replaces lost fluids better than a sports drink or water. If one doesn’t care for the taste — can always add in some fruit juice.

Leave a Reply

