Stella’s First Time…


imageI was born a geek girl.  When I was a kid, I played with my brother’s Batman and TMNT toys as much as I did my Barbie dolls.  My mom would help us make costumes out of everyday items so we could play as our favorite characters.  My grandmother was a great seamstress who would sew us superhero costumes to sleep in long before you could buy such things.  I loved my NES and Sega Genesis, but when my brother was given a first generation PlayStation for Christmas with Resident Evil 2, I became a true gamer girl playing until the wee hours of the night.  I later fell in love with Final Fantasy, which is still my favorite game franchise. In college, I was introduced to a boy at a party who had my friend convinced his real name was Bruce Wayne.  On our first date we watched Sin City, and 5 years later we were married.   We delayed our honeymoon 10 months so we could go to our first San Diego Comic Con together as newlyweds.

One of our favorites memories at SDCC was going to the Playboy party! We saw a huge line for a big outdoor party, so we just got in line.  When we got to the ladies who were checking the guest list, I told her my name and may have told a little white lie that a friend told me she was going to get us on the list.  I don’t know if she didn’t really care about the list or thought we looked cool, but either way she handed us two wristbands!  We only realized what party it was after we walked in.  That’s part of the SDCC charm – just go with the flow and you never know where you’ll end up!

The hardest part for me of Comic-Con was the crowds.  My first trip to the Con floor triggered a panic attack as I found myself being swallowed by the crowd.  I rushed to the lobby for some air, and I told my husband I didn’t know if I would be able to enjoy the Con.  We took a walk around the Convention Center, and by the time we finished, I guess I caught the SDCC bug.  The enthusiasm of everyone there is infectious and next thing I knew I was like a kid in a candy store.

image-1The heroine of our first SDCC was our wonderful friend Meg.  She gave us professional guest passes as a wedding gift, which was more than generous.  The week of ComicCon, she was great about giving us pointers, introducing us to some of her friends, and even helped trade my Vampire Diaries Warner Bros. bag for a Supernatural one!  She took our dream of “one day going to SDCC, just to say we went” and made it a reality.  Best. Wedding. Gift. Ever. And here’s a picture of my favorite spot to take a break at SDCC.  The harbor behind the Convention Center:

You can find me on Twitter @StellsBells10 or on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/WingedMonkeyEvents

2 thoughts on “Stella’s First Time…

  1. Take a few minutes on Saturday night, perhaps before heading out for the last party, and organize your suitcase. It will be a lot less headache when you’re racing to get out before check-out time Sunday, and you are less likely to forget something. Leave extra time to get to the airport and then to get through security. A ton of people are going to be there on Sunday trying to get home.

Leave a Reply

