Megan’s First Time…


Screen shot 2013-04-10 at 10.38.03 AMThe Nerdy Girlie’s 1st SDCC

My nerdiness began when I was five years old and received my very first gaming system, the NES.  From then on I tried to spread my nerdiness to all who would hear.  At first it was my brothers.  We watched the original Star Wars trilogy and Jurassic Park over and over and over again.  I converted 2/3 to the nerd side.

But my nerdiness didn’t kick into high gear until my first year at San Diego Comic Con in 2009.  We had just moved to San Diego that year.  My husband works for a gaming company so he was able to get both of us and two of my brother’s tickets.  The first year was defiantly a learning experience for me, as was the second.  We woke up “early” the first day at 8 a.m. to get in line for H Hall, and were still able to get in, only just barely (can’t do that now!).  One high point of that year was having a surprise visit from Johnny Depp in H Hall.  That was my very first HUGE celebrity sighting.  Even though I was all the way in the back of the room, I still completely fangirled out!

Screen shot 2013-04-10 at 10.37.46 AM

My second high point was discovering Chuck and Firefly.  We were planning on staying in Ballroom 20 all Saturday, and the only panel I didn’t know about was the very first one, Chuck.  We were in the back for that panel as well.  When Jeffester came out singing Fat Bottom Girls, I was intrigued.  When Zachary Levi started talking I was hooked.  He was so sweet, kind, and gracious towards all his fans.  I knew I had found my next big thing.  Adam Baldwin won me over as well and I went home and became a Browncoat and a Chuckster.

Screen shot 2013-04-10 at 10.38.18 AMMy last big thing was being able to buy my very first Futurama exclusive.  I had been a huge fan for a long time and was stoked to begin my collecting at SDCC.

That year we started our tradition of taking a picture every day before we leave for the con, and have been doing it ever since.  It is nice to be able to look back and see the happiness on your face as you begin the day — before the exhaustion kicks in.

I wasn’t huge into Twitter until the following year so I really didn’t have any clue what SDCC was going to be like.  Twitter and social media have helped me learn and plan for every SDCC since then.  That first year we never left the convention center and now that is one of my most favorite things to do.  I have not had any negative experiences at SDCC — my first year included.  I think that it is so great that we nerds can CONverge together and have a good time and make lasting friendships.  Let’s all be a hero to someone at SDCC and let the world know that nerds are kind.

Twitter: @thenerdygirlie
www.thenerdygirlie.com

Thanks Megan! Send me your First Time experience and I will post it!

6 thoughts on “Megan’s First Time…

  1. The one-and-only NerdyGirlie is one of my favorite bloggers. Thanks for sharing with us all Megan and thanks for being an active Twitter user. It’s always so great to see something appear under that “Connect” section on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

