Francheska’s First Time…


Screen shot 2013-04-04 at 7.35.54 AM

I think this first time experience in similar to many new attendees. Thanks Francheska for sharing and congrats on surviving the craziness!

My hubby had been begging me to go to SDCC for years. I didn’t really understand what it was. We are both huge nerds loving every Sci-fi and Fantasy. Through a connection at my work, we got 4 day passes in 2009. We could go on the floor an hour early with exhibitor badges. We barely went to any panels, skipped Saturday in favor of a day trip to LA and walked the floor a ton. It was fun but very confusing. We were super excited to get in to see True Blood. They cut off the line right behind us.  It was one of the few panels we went to the entire weekend. We made some friends in line that continue to be friends and spend SDCC with us every year.

Screen shot 2013-04-04 at 7.32.32 AMThe following year (2010) we were more prepared. We went through the craziness of buying tickets. We looked at the schedule. Decided what panels we were going to. We went all four days and managed to get tons of SDCC exclusives at the different booth. We skipped  2011 but in 2012 we went back and had a great time dividing between the panels and the floor. We were lucky enough to get tickets and hotel again this year. Can’t wait to do it all again. I feel a certain kinship while I’m there. I love that everyone else there loves being a nerd like me. I don’t have to hide my enthusiasm for all things Firefly or Star Trek. See you all in 3 months!!!!!

You can follow Francheska at @mystfran

Leave a Reply

