2013 Comic-Con Tip #1: Twitter


comic-con-twitterOne of the biggest tips to help you get ready for Comic-Con is to get on Twitter- but not just to tweet out your latest nerd swag or sharing your Kogi Taco pic, but for the purpose of creating real connection. In the midst of social media options, Twitter is still the most direct and simplest way to connect to the Comic-Con ‘tribe’. But like any social media tool, it takes a few months to ramp it up and to find your bearings. Here are a few big tips that you might consider tweaking to prepare you for the show:

  • Handle/Name: Adjust this to better reflect who you are. I know it’s hard to find an available Twitter handle that makes sense for you but I really encourage to use a handle that gives people a clue about who you are. You might include words like: Nerd, Geek, Jedi, Trekkie, Whovian, etc. The same goes for the name you list. You don’t have to use your full name but people are more apt to follow an account that feels personal and not just ‘Whovian Nerd’. Remember, you can change your handle as long as it’s available, so you might play around with it. I get called ‘Crazy’ at Comic Cons all the time. Partially because it’s easy to remember, partially because I’m running around like I’m nuts. Key Tip: Make your handle/name unique to stand out but not too hard to remember
  • Screen shot 2013-04-03 at 1.37.38 PMBio Pic: I know anonymity is important to some but I am firm believer in posting a real pic of yourself. Plenty have chosen not to go this route but I think a real photo creates more honest interaction. A good clear, color balanced pic of you smiling will do wonders for your interactions. The creatively cropped, semi blurred artsy pic may be hipsterish, but does little to build followers. Plus, a good pic makes it easier to spot each other at a con. Your brain is wired to remember a face more easily than a name- especially if your account name is hard to remember. Key Tip: Make it personal
  • Your Bio Description: Again, this is an opportunity to express yourself but to entice people to follow you with a few pithy phrases. Listing ‘I like to take long walks on the beach with my dog‘ tells us very little. Saying ‘I like to take long walks inside my Tardis with my faithful K-9‘ clues us in on your fandom. A diverse bio also confuses potential followers, for instance: ‘I like Wine, Clowns, Moon Rocks, Cubism Art, Mathematics, Vegan, and Comic-Con“. Be careful putting in too many hot links since it looks like a garbled mess. For search optimization, make sure you keep important key words in your bio description. I know this all sounds like common sense, but I am continually surprised with how many accounts do not list anything compelling in their description. Key Tip: Make it as easy as possible for me to follow you
  • Screen shot 2013-04-03 at 1.41.27 PMWho to Follow?: In a later post, I will list some specific accounts to follow in relation to Comic-Con. In the meantime, I encourage you to search accounts using these key words: SDCC, Comic Con, Comic Books, Nerd, and Geek. These accounts have a consistent presence in these topics and are a good place to start. They have earned their place in the search list and will provide helpful information about comic conventions. 

That’s it for now. Twitter has been so rewarding connecting with people online and in person- however, it has to be utilized strategically or else your just Tweetin in the wind. In a later post, I will talk more in-depth about how to use Twitter for Comic-Con, who you MUST follow, and how it can be used to maximize your 4-days in San Diego. Tweet on!

3 thoughts on “2013 Comic-Con Tip #1: Twitter

  1. Great information as usual and very true. I changed my Twitter handle last year from @stdcss01 to @CSSully and it instantly changed the amount of interaction that I received and I started gaining more followers. People don’t want to follow weird screen names or word jumbles, they want to connect with real people!
    ** In case you were wondering – stdcss01 was the email address assigned to me in college (std = student) and I just kept using it. It doesn’t stand for the STD you are thinking about people.

Leave a Reply

