Phoenix Comicon 2012


For a second year in a row, I returned to the ‘Tatooine heat’ of Phoenix, Arizona to attend Phoenix Comicon 2012. PCC is celebrating it’s 10th year anniversary- that’s the ‘tin’ anniversary! So I gift wrapped a box of Reynolds Wrap and headed down to the Phoenix Convention Center. The convention has spiked in numbers the past few years as their post-convention letter reflects:

Hello Press and Media for Phoenix Comicon,
I just wanted to thank each and every on of you for supporting Phoenix Comicon throughout this past year. Our unique attendance for 2012 was 32,127, in 2011 it was 23,001 and in 2010 we had 13,988. We are truly grateful for the support and coverage you have done on our event to help us grow by 9k each of the last two years. While you wont hear from us much in the next several months, rest assured we are planning and working out details for our 2013 event!

Overall, I enjoyed the show. Since it’s a different region than SoCal, there was a variety of exhibitors that I don’t see as often. I enjoyed a couple of the bigger panels- Jon Bernthal (aka: Shane) of The Walking Dead offered a lot of interesting insight about the show. I really enjoyed the Star Trek: The Next Generation 25th Anniversary panel. Even though I am a hardcore Trekkie, I had never seen a ST panel before. So it was a joy to listen to stories from Levar Burton, Michael Dorn, Marina Sirtis, Brent Spiner, and Wil Wheaten. Patrick Stewart was suppose to be there but was MIA :(. Phoenix seems to be a Trek friendly convention- last year featured Leonard Nimoy and this year William Shatner led the charge. Phoenix CC is a low stress show and I enjoyed the overall slow pace experience. I just might have to return for a ‘three-peat’ next year.

Leave a Reply

