The Long Beach Comic Con


ConCenter

With the 2010 San Diego Comic Con out of the way, we now start looking at the other Cons coming up. I was able to attend last year’s First Annual Long Beach Comic Con. This year’s is October 29-31st. If you are thinking of going, here are my thoughts from last year’s experience:

October 6, 2009
This past weekend, I had a chance to visit the 1st Annual Long Beach Comic Con. Considering it was the first year, I thought it was great. It was a much simpler version of its big brother the San Diego Comic Con- and as much as we tried, it’s hard not to compare. There were plenty of ‘cons’ but I had a lot of grace considering it was their first outing. Some of the pros and cons to consider when deciding your con schedule for next year:

Thumbs Up

  • To say it was less crowded would be the understatement of the century. Very little lines, wide open aisles, and easy parking.
  • The focus was actually on comic books! Most of the panels centered around the craft of writing, marketing, illustration, and character developement of comics. I went to a comics writing panel that I would have never have gone to at the SDCC and loved it.
  • The Artist Alley (emerging artist display their works) was the center piece of the showroom floor. At SDCC the Artist Alley is off to the side where there is less traffic and less value.
  • Although there were less ‘stars’, they were more accessible. If you wanted to, you could approach and have conversations with the industry professionals.
  • Prices for merchandise seemed a little more reasonable.
  • Glad to see costumes were out. It wasn’t as much but I’m sure it will come stronger next year.
  • The convention center is right across the street from all kinds of restaurants. We weren’t forced to eat con food! 
  • There was more space and time to sit down and meet some people.
  • I valet parked across the street for $10 bucks! Unlike self parking for $20 across town at SDCC.

Thumbs Down

  • You could definitely tell there was less money to go around. The floor was not very inspirational and displays were pretty ordinary. There was really nothing of interest on the floor to take pictures of since the major media giants (Warner Bros, Sony, Paramount, etc) were not there. I want to be able to brag to my friends about what I saw- which was very little.
  • Only three rooms were in circulation for panels so the options were very limited. Next year, they need two or three times more options in order to handle the expected crowds.
  • The ‘star’ power was pretty weak. With the exception of Stan Lee, Seth Green, and Jim Lee, there was really no one else of notoriety.
  • Not sure this is a con, but there was very little swag given out. I usually don’t care about that stuff but some do.

I will be posting some pics soon. Overall, we had a great time and will plan on returning next year. It’s actually a good experience for a ‘con virgin’ since it’s much less overwhelming and stressful then SDCC. My prediction is that it will take the route of SDCC with all of the pop culture influences. I would rather it emerge as its own personality and with a unique flavor but I’m sure where the money is, the con will follow. You never know, it might blow up to be the next SDCC.

I give it 3 out of 5 Crazies.

Visit the Long Beach Comic Con website

4 thoughts on “The Long Beach Comic Con

  1. I might try to check out the NY Comic Con. I have a friend who’s a part of it but I’m still not 100% sure. I think the Chicago Con would be pretty awesome to check out too.

    • I won’t be able to go the the NYCC. If you do, I would love for you to contribute some thoughts on CRAZY if you are interested. Thanks and let me know!

  2. Pingback: When Nerds Attack: Comic Con 2010 » Long Beach Comic Con

  3. Pingback: Interested in the Long Beach Comic Con? « Crazy 4 Comic Con

Leave a Reply

