Eleanor’s First Time…

Here’s the latest installment of “My First Time” story! Thanks Eleanor for sharing your crazy journey to the San Diego Comic-Con!

1453336_755408721140958_1458160177_nI’ve been a long time nerd of shows like Supernatural, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Psych, The Vampire Diaries, etc. I only recently became interested in Marvel especially the character of Loki and the awesome Rocket Raccoon. So I couldn’t wait to experience the San Diego Comic-Con for the first time! During SDCC I was able to do many things I never thought possible. I saw the amazing Joss Whedon in person, I ran into the cast of Being Human just randomly on the street. I was fortunate enough to get signings for Psych where I met one of my favorite actors Timothy Omundson and the Thor: The Dark World signing. Meeting Tom Hiddleston is by far one of the coolest moments of my life. He was so incredibly nice and high-fiving him was an epic event! I was also fortunate enough to meet the beautiful Felicia Day at the Geek and Sundry spot and the incredible Richard Speight Jr from Supernatural on the street! I got to live an ultimate Buffy fan-girl moment when I met Nicholas Brendon aka Xander! I got to attend an incredible party where I met some amazing people and made some wonderful new friends.

1000561_692677254080772_1615547476_nThe hardest part of Comic-Con? The crowds were massive. There were a few points where I would get separated from my husband that I just about had a panic attack. It was a really hard place for me to be as I’m not used to crowds like that. Running from one place to another because there was so much I wanted to do definitely was tough. I never felt like there was enough time for everything I wanted to do. Accepting that I wouldn’t be able to do everything I wanted was the hardest thing I had to learn that week.

There’s one person in particular who stands out as a hero to me. I don’t know his name or where he’s from, but he was instrumental in me having an enjoyable time at SDCC for the first time. The first day of the con they were drawing tickets for the Psych cast signing. I was all alone in line and I was a nervous wreck. I was nervous about the process, about getting lost, and just feeling so overwhelmed. I met a gentleman in line who helped calm me down. He talked about the process, the entire convention and how the most important thing was just to have fun! I ended up drawing a winning ticket for Psych and I was thrilled! I never got to thank that man for doing what he did, but he was definitely my hero that day.

Twitter: @eleanor__grace
Blog: http://behindthescenesgeek.wordpress.com/

Thanks Eleanor! Please submit your First Time story so I can post it- read details here!

 

2 thoughts on “Eleanor’s First Time…

  1. Where did you even get the chance to get the Avengers autograph session?
    We waited for the Doctor Who one for about 5 hours with no luck. (3 years in a row and we always strike out)

    I loved your first time story!

  2. Thanks for your comment!

    All of Marvel’s signing drawings are done at the Marvel booth at the start of the day!

    I had tried for a Supernatural signing and waited what felt like forever only to have them run out right before it got to be my turn. The nice thing about Marvel for me was that for the Agents of SHIELD signing drawing, I got to try twice before they ran out of winning tickets.

Leave a Reply

