Peter Capaldi’s New Doctor Who Costume

Screen Shot 2014-01-27 at 4.25.45 PM

Whovians sprinted to Twitter once again as the BBC released the first official shot of Peter Capaldi in his official 12th Doctor threads. While it’s carrying on the suit tradition from the 10th and 11th, iIt’s definitely a simplified and modern version. It has a futuristic feel with the clean lines and patternless material. It kinda reminds me of something out of the Matrix. Capaldi described it as:

He’s woven the future from the cloth of the past. Simple, stark, and back to basics. No frills, no scarf, no messing, just 100 percent Rebel Time Lord.”

Moffat added:

New Doctor, new era, and of course new clothes. Monsters of the universe, the vacation is over – Capaldi is suited and booted and coming to get you!”

Not sure what the ‘rebel’ part means but it definitely is a suit with attitude. Since Matt Smith was the youngest Doctor ever, they ‘aged up’ his look by giving him his classic tweed jacket and bow tie ensemble. Conversely, I think they are giving Capaldi a younger, hipper feel with this new take. I’m sure Doc Marten’s will be appreciating the extra traffic once cosplayers kick it into high gear.

Overall, it’s a pretty simple look that reminds me of Eccleston’s 9th monotone version (with a splash of red). I’m not super thrilled since this pic makes him look like a Vegas magician- but I think with the right attitude and performance, Capaldi can make it work. Now the question is, what will the new sonic screwdriver look like? I’d love to hear your thoughts and comments below!

6 thoughts on “Peter Capaldi’s New Doctor Who Costume

  1. The red is reminiscent of Pertwee’s cape. From what I read, Capaldi was a fan of Pertwee, which led to his now famous fan letters. So I’m really liking that he’s giving a nod to his favorite doctor!

  2. Yeah, my first impression is that it was VERY reminiscent of the 3rd Doctor (with a splash of the 1st’s formality). I love it, but I’m a Classic Who nerd.

    I think the word “Rebel” was used because it hearkens back to early Who when Gallifrey was still around and he was always getting into trouble meddling with human history. Given that the regeneration into the 3rd Doctor was forced by the TimeLords as punishment, I think it goes with his whole 3rd Doctor homage.

  3. I’m digging it; very classic Doctor looking with a few modern embellishments. I really hope they give him a new Sonic Screwdriver. This is a new regeneration cycle, he needs a new Sonic IMO.

  4. I’m liking it! A bit more formality with a splash of red. I wonder if this no-nonsense attitude is related to a never-ending quest to restore Gallifrey after the events of “The Time of the Doctor,” or something else (maybe the quest to find better colored kidneys?). I suspect a Doctor that’s much more in line with the 3rd, more business-like with a very dry sense of humor. I’m going to have to bring out my old Doc Martens :) And yes, it’s time for a new Sonic!

Leave a Reply

