2013 Tip of the Day #27: Two lessons that can change everything…

For this VERY important Tip of the Day, my entire post is captured on this video. What I am about to share won’t be covered in other sites- but I feel like these two tips are potentially the most important ones of them all. Follow these and it might change everything, not only just for Comic-Con but your entire life as well. Let me know what you think. Your feedback guides and crafts this site so please share what’s on your mind.

With only a couple of days left this is what I plan to post:

  • Tuesday morning: A fun line game to help pass time.
  • Tuesday afternoon: I’ll be revealing my super secret cosplay project
  • Wednesday: My personal schedule for panels, off site events, and my favorite restaurants I’ll be hitting up.

Check out my past Tip of the Day posts.

20 thoughts on “2013 Tip of the Day #27: Two lessons that can change everything…

    • Ha, thank you. I prefer to think of generosity like a zombie virus- it spreads fast with the more people who can bitten ;) Thanks and see ya in a couple of days!

  1. Tony you are such an inspiration to me. Comic Con also inspired me to begin my blog and I have loved every min of it. I am so blessed to have a nerd friend like you who is so kind and generous! Can’t wait to see you on Wednesday!! Safe travels!

    • I actually thought of you when putting that post together! Since we talked at WonderCon, it struck me how important it is to take initiative and try something new. It’s amazing how something seems so unlikely or impossible until you just try. So kudos back to you for creating a space that nerdy girls and boys can enjoy.

  2. Wasn’t expecting that but that was defintiely zen like thinking. Hopefully this gets out virally and you can usher in a “New Age of Enlightenment” at the con and make something good, great.

    Not going this year but it would definitely have been a pleasure to meet you. Looking forward to it next year. I’ll be following you and thenerdygirlies’s tweets. So please tweet every awesome moment for us schlubs stuck in the office.

    • Thank you so much! I know this is not the typical ‘practical’ post but I do believe there is greatness among us that just needs to get out. Sorry your gonna miss the con but I will see you next year!

      • Eh, i have to let the wife pick the vacation sometime. For some odd reason she would rather be on a beach than in line with me and a bunch of sweaty fanboys, go figure. LoL

  3. Wow! You are so right on about being generous and using SDCC as an inspiration point to kick start your dreams. This year is my 10th SDCC anniversary. With the craziness of the con growing each year, it is SO easy to become jaded about SDCC. I love reading your blog because it reminds me that when you get right down to it, there is something special about the SDCC & nerd community. It is the first place in the world that many of us felt like we truly belonged, and that is worth fighting for (I often wish the Christian church was more like SDCC in this respect, but that’s another story!).

    I am taking my sister and a friend with me on Sunday. This will be the first con for both of them. I’m very much looking forward to seeing the convention through their eyes. They have also enjoyed reading your blog posts as prep for the big day.

    Thank you so much for what you do for the fan community. Have a great con everyone!

  4. I love this post. My mantra this year: Be nice even if it costs me. Admittedly, in high stress situations and crowds, I can be insecure and a little reactive. My goal this year is to stay more grounded around it and practice that spirit of generosity. Lofty goals but hopefully attainable!

  5. Tony, first let me say, thank you. Your posts are always so enlightening with today’s being particularly insightful. I hope many heed your lessons, not only at Comic-Con but in their everyday lives. Generosity provides payment to both the giver and recipient iin a multitude of ways and we often have no idea how we can change others lives by a simple act. I also hope others follow their passion and use the inspiration Comic-Con offers to help them. Even though my interests are not artistic or seemingly related to SDCC, the release and escapism it provides inspires me to pursue what is important to me and to remember what is important in life. It also lets me be childlike and enjoy the moment, both very important but not undertaken as often as I wish. Again, Tony, thank you for your words of wisdom and encouragement!

    • Thank you for your kind words and for speaking from experience. I think more con veterans need to share their stories with the younger generation of about how to gain value from the Comic-Con experience. I love all the bright and shiny things- but the inspiration and passion is the best part. Thanks for commenting!

  6. Last year, I ended up with a Course of the Force lightsaber that I wasn’t going to be able to get home. I sent out a tweet that I was looking to sell it. Mike from Stockton-Con offer to buy it. By the time we met, I heard Matt Smith’s Hall H quote: “If the world were a bit more like Comic Con, it would be a better place.” I took that advice to heart and gave the lightsaber to Mike for free. He returned the favor and gave me an NTSF:SD:SUV comic that I missed out on. So, I can’t agree more with the idea of helping others out and paying it forward.

  7. Tony, great entry! I had started a blog many years ago about kids entertainment in a modern world, http://isitrightforkids.wordpress.com/. I went to my first Con in 2009 and used that as leverage to get more involved in writing posts and reviewing stuff. I haven’t been as regular as I would have liked in my posts as life seems to get in the way. But I keep going back to writing and have made some connections through that. Sadly I won’t be at the Con this year but I do plan to go again. I really enjoyed the spectacle of the Con and the chance to meet and interact with creators of all kinds. Keep up the great site and I look forward to hearing about this years show!

  8. Hey Tony, I think everything you’re doing is really fantastic. You’re right, not enough people talk about ways to be a good person while at Comic Con, but I’m glad you’ve put so much emphasis on it. Because it’s important stuff ya know, we’re all there to have a good time. And also I have one quick question: how do you personally decide between two panels that are at the same time but are dying to see both? I’ve been killing myself over scheduling (particularly The World’s End vs. Korra & Agents of Shield). Thanks!

  9. Hey Tony, Where can i find the best places to get coverage of the con since i cant go? I used to watch it on G4 but, obviously, I cant do that anymore.
    Thanks. :)

    • Yea, that is a tough one. I don’t think you are going to find it at any one place but check Machinima, Geek and Sundry, and search Youtube nightly.

Leave a Reply

