Beginner’s Guide to Comic-Con Podcast

Navigating Comic-Con for the first time can be a daunting task to say the least. Most people I talk to (myself included) admit that if they knew more, they would have done their first time a little differently. Granted, there is a lot to see and do but there are also an equal amount of pitfalls that could potentially ruin your day. So in conjunction with BabbleOn 5, I have posted a ‘Beginner’s Guide to Comic-Con‘. I am joined with fellow Con veterans Jeff (@Nerdy_Something) and Johnny (@NerdOutburst). For this 1 hour podcast, we cover tips for preparing for the trip, the exhibitor floor, panels, after parties, etc. Hope you enjoy it and we hope to see you at the Con.

Use the simple audio player below or click the link for smart phones:

[Phone users click this link]

15 thoughts on “Beginner’s Guide to Comic-Con Podcast

  1. Thanks so much for this. This will be my first time at SDCC (I bought single day badges for Friday and Saturday). So I have a question…I have to pick up my single day badges Friday starting at 8:30 a.m. So after I get my badges, is there any chance at all I can make it to the Community panel at 10 a.m. in Ballroom 20?

    • Congrats on your first time to Comic-Con! Yea, that is one of the biggest advantages of having a 4-Day badge is that you don’t have to mess with badge pick up in the morning. It will VERY difficult for you to pick your badge and then make it into B20 in time. Most fans will start lining up by 7:00am. Your best bet is to find someone that will save you a place in line. Try to ask for both badges on Friday- you might get lucky and get both at the same time. Good luck!

    • Great thanks! Yea, everything you do on your phone will take 3 times as longer because of the congested network or wifi. You battery will drain MUCH faster- so get an external battery. Good luck and thanks for commenting!

  2. Thanks for the advice. That’s too bad because I LOVE Community and don’t think it’ll survive another season to be back next year. I wasn’t able to get the 4-day badge because I had trouble with the registration website using Chrome. But I had been planning on Friday/Saturday from the start. I guess I’ll just learn from it for future years.

    Another question if you don’t mind. So once I’ve gotten my badge on Friday, is there any chance I could get into Hall H for The Walking Dead and Game of Thrones (starting at 1:25)? I’m prepared to sit through The Big Bang Theory right before it. Just not sure if even that is enough time to get in.

    • Hall H will be the most popular place to be on Saturday. It won’t empty out that much between panels either. This will be a tough year for anyone getting a late start in the morning. The buddy system is the best. Try but have a plan B.

  3. Great podcast.

    Also, I forget who mentioned that they were looking for an iPhone battery case, but the Boost Plus is great. It’s just $40 on Amazon is Prime eligible. I bought one for Con recently and have been using it all week. It’s amazing. After a full day of use, the case is just half-depleted and my phone is still at full capacity.

  4. Thanks for the podcast – lots of useful advice.Local San Diegan, but this is the first time we’ve been able to attend.

    Do you have any tips on the parking situation? All the lots around the center have their online sales closed but some still say there could be spots open on a first-come-first-serve basis. If you’ve used them before, how early do you need to arrive in order to get these spots? Would ideally like to park close by to use as pitstop for holding swag, food etc – similar to how you guys described using the hotel rooms. If this is not feasible, will probably go with parking at Q stadium and taking the trolley.

    Thanks.

    • No problem! Yea, parking is really tough if you haven’t pre-paid. Your best option at this point is Q Stadium or park farther south and take the trolley in. Best of luck to you and thanks for commenting!

      • One last question: I bought the tickets for my wife and myself. Do we both have to be physically present to pick up the daily badges, or can I pick them up for both of us assuming I have both photo IDs? i.e.- can she stand in one of the lines while I pick up the badges?

        Thanks.

Leave a Reply

