Geek of the Week

I am honored to introduce the Geek of the Week, Barb of @SDCCNerdsAttack. As her Twitter name indicates, she is a fellow fan and promoter of Comic Con.

How old were you when bit by the radioactive spider (when did you become a nerd)?

I think deep down I’ve always been a nerd. When I was a kid I remember watching “She-Ra/He-Man,” “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles,” and “X-Men.” As I got older, ya know around 12, I watched movies like “Alien” and “Predator” with my dad. I don’t think I’m a typical nerd (whatever that is really) but I do have nerd tendencies.

Growing up, were you more misfit or mainstream? Describe.

Neither. I really don’t think I was a member of any group or clique. I wasn’t a jock but I wasn’t a cool kid. I wasn’t really picked on but I wasn’t invited to the parties. I had my small group of friends and I was happy with that. I wasn’t very social and I’m still that way now. I have my small group that I can depend on. I’m not one to really reach out to others.

Clearly there has been a shift in our culture, where nerds and geeks are more accepted. What/who do you think significantly contributed to that?

I think Joss Whedon has a role in in. I remember watching “Buffy” as a teen and then “Angel.” He had strong characters and still produces strong characters, wether the networks or ratings show it. I don’t think he’s the only reason though. You have big name studios producing blockbuster hits like “The Dark Night” and “Spider-Man.” You see people wearing super hero shirts who would’ve never been caught dead in them before. Plus we can’t forget the Internet. Before you had to find your local comic shop but now you can buy comics from Amazon! It’s amazing.

If you were sentenced to prison on the Klingon moon of Rura Pente and could only take on book, DVD, and video game with you, what would they be?

Would my Kindle be considered “one book?” I’m such a book nerd and have no idea which one I’d take. If I had to choose though it would most likely be an Edgar Allan Poe anthology. The DVD choice is pretty easy, “Silence of the Lambs” even though it’s not actually nerdy. It’s my favorite movie and I couldn’t live without it. I’d have to go old school for a video game and select Sonic the Hedgehog. I love that little guy.

Superman’s villain, Mr Mxylzptlk has decided to grant you love from your secret celebrity or fictional character nerd crush. Who do you ask for???

Again, just one? Since we’re going with nerd crush, it does make it easier. I’d have to pick Dr. Spencer Reid from the show “Criminal Minds.” He’s the boy genius of the group with an IQ of 187, an eidetic memory and a number of Ph.D’s. who’s pretty socially awkward. His character has evolved over the years but he’s still a loveable nerd who’s never sure when someone is serious or sarcastic, if someone is actually asking a question or being rhetorical.

The Legion of Superheroes has traveled back in time to tell you that you attained your dream job, what is it?

A veterinarian. I love animals and would love to be able to actually help them. It’s a hard job but animals need us!

The nerdiest thing I ever did (and no one knows about) was…

When I was a kid I had imaginary friends. Who were named after the Power Rangers.

After finding a Yellow Lantern Ring, you decide to use its powers to kidnap your favorite role model/hero to spend an evening of intellectually stimulating conversation. Who would you nab?

I think it would be interesting to sit down with Stephen King. I heard he’s going to be writing an episode of “The Walking Dead.”

You are an avid blogger and Twitterer, why do it and what has it meant to you? What advice would you give to someone interested in doing the same?

I started blogging years go. It was just something to do. Instead of a journal I had a blog and I’ve met some of the most interesting people from it. I don’t keep up with some of my blogs like I use to but I can’t bring myself not to renew them. They really do hold a special place in my heart. I’m still semi-new to the whole Twitter thing but it’s amazing. You don’t realize how small the world is until you get on the internet.

As far as advice, blog because you want to blog. Don’t do it just to make some extra money. Your heart needs to be in it or you’ll lose interest. It doesn’t matter what the topic, as long as it’s something you care about. I should know, I’ve had a true crime blog!

The final question in which the fate of the multiverse hangs in the balance… San Diego Comic Con or New York Comic Con? Why, what, and how do you do it?

Well, I’ve never been to NYCC but I plan on going this year because I have a friend with a web comic who’s going to be there. Of course I have to go with SDCC. Last year was my first year and it was amazing. I was truly blown away by everything. The people, the costumes, the crowds, the excitement. It was mind blowing. I was able to meet celebs I never thought I’d meet!

Check out Barb’s Comic Con site at WhenNerdsAttack.com and follow her on Twitter @SDCCNerdsAttack or @RickyBarbie

2 thoughts on “Geek of the Week

Leave a Reply

